brandonnobach

Books, Running, and Possibly Summer Courses

In Uncategorized on October 22, 2011 at 11:45 pm

Hello all!
Well here we are again! Another update from me! I hope that this letter finds you well!

It has been a busy couple of weeks for me since I ran the Spokane Half Marathon and last updated you! I have finished one book and am well on my way to finishing another, and I competed in another race today!

The book that I finished was the one I mentioned last time The Lost Stories by John Flanagan, is the one I finished. It was great to have a few more stories from a great childrens literature series that I have been reading over the last many years, I did find myself wanting more, but I guess those stories will be left for another day. He does have another series based in the same area in the world, but from a different perspective (a different country as the home land) set after his first series ends. The other book that I am a little over halfway through is Jodi Picoult’s first novel. It is pretty good, and one I did start before The Lost Stories, as I believe I mentioned it in my first or second letter to you this year.

School continues to go well. My education classes picked up steam in terms of work load, but they are going well. We have been doing more paperwork of late, having to fill out which classes we have taken and which ones we have still to do in our majors/minors. This coming week we will be taking those and putting together a schedule for the rest of our time here at Eastern (four more quarters of classes and then student teaching).

The race that I ran today was called the Hunger Stomp. It was a charity race in which proceeds went to help the hungry in Cheney and Spokane. A 5k race and it’s first year of being run was pretty well organized (got off to a late start), but overall it was a good race! I started out front with the eventual winner, a young man named Kyle who was probably 13 or 14 years of age. He had a strong stride and pulled to the front halfway in the race. I came in about a minute behind him in second. It was a good day for running! On a better note if I can get in 33 miles next week (entirely possible if I get my runs in) I get to 100 miles for the first time since February (I hit 89 in March). A sure sign that I am back on the right track to being better and healthier.

More on the racing front I am now signed up for two marathons (after I confirm entry into the Coeur D’Alene Marathon) next year. I signed myself up for the Missoula Marathon on July 9th last night! I will also be making a decision to become an ambassador for the San Francisco Marathon this coming week. I want to do it, but I am not sure whether it is the right thing to do or not. I will also be running (most likely with Duard and possibly my brother) the Seattle Rock and Roll Marathon next June, if my schedule allows.

Something that I have talked with a few of you about, but not many is something that I have alluded to in that last paragraph only slightly. My schedule allowing me to do a few of these races is completely dependent upon one thing. Summer courses. That is something that I will know more about next quarter. For now let me state that there is entirely the possibility that I will not be returning at the end of this school year until next August. Summer courses are a real possibility and something that I will let you know more about later when I know more myself.

I have been asked by a few people when I will be returning back to the west side of the state. I will be making that venture in about a month. For Thanksgiving. I do look forward to seeing some of you then! I will return the Wednesday before Thanksgiving and head back to school the Sunday following. The following time I will be there is At Christmas, coming home on the 7th of December, and returning for school on the 7th or 8th of January.

That is all for this update! Again I hope that this finds each of you doing well!
Brandon
Brandonnobach.wordpress.com
nobachingdown.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

