brandonnobach

Summer Adventures Meld to School Time Bliss!

In Uncategorized on September 21, 2010 at 1:25 am

Well hello everyone!
It has been a while since many have you have opened up your emails to find one from me! And for some of you this is the first one that you are receiving! Many people have told me over the past two years that they really enjoy these! So in that respect I will continue to send them usually on a weekly basis! I have now returned to Eastern Washington University for my third year! This first email of the year never consists of anything school related except for my classes this next quarter and maybe a word about work this coming year for me! It mostly touches on the summer that I have just had and this year I had quite a summer! So let’s get down to it!

First and foremost I must thank my grandma and Pat who braved the pass and the long drive over to Cheney to return me to the school! It was a wonderful drive over with them so thank you both for doing this! I couldn’t be writing this without you!

They also helped me move into my apartment! Which I muse say already looks lived in! I suppose that is because my roommates Amanda Weaver and Kylie Martonik have both been here for a week already! Getting an apartment means a new address and any address (from the past two years) that you have for me is now obsolete! My new address is:

Add it to your lists! Send me stuff if you wish! Or don’t it makes no difference to me! We live about a block from campus! So that makes things nice!
Summer activities, you might be wondering how all of the activities lined up that I had planned already and some that popped up on their own accord!
I just ended my second year of coaching the Marysville-Pilchuck Cross Country team and am really sad to have to leave them! We have a great group of kids this year and running with them both this summer and this season, at least for the beginning, was a wonderful experience! They of course are not finished with me yet as I will be around for the huge Tomahawk Twilight Invitational on the second of October and the coaches will be entirely pestered by me by the end of the season! The highlight of their season so far would be the meet this past weekend that I was able to accompany them on to Seaside, Oregon, and it was phenomenal! We took our whole team for the first time in years! We had a charter bus that took us down and slept in barracks at the meet location! Lots of fun and an exciting way to end my tenure for this portion of the season! I cannot wait to see what all of you do! Good luck Tomahawks!

From the point of view of my running I had three events that I competed in this summer! The first was the Strawberry Festival Run, followed by the Rock and Roll Seattle 1/2 Marathon, and finishing the summer with my first ever Marathon, the Skagit Flats! The strawberry festival 5k went well! I won my age group and won a medal! Which was a lot of fun! Hosted this year by the Lakewood Cougars who did a fantastic job of hosting the run and I cannot wait until next years race! A couple of weeks later I took a friends race number because he couldn’t run the race and ran the Seattle Rock and Roll Half Marathon with his dad and set a PR (which wasn’t hard to do because it was my first!) in a time of 1 hours 33 Minutes and 54 Seconds! Finally on September 12, 2010 I toed the starting line near Burlington Edison High School for the race of a lifetime! I planned on going 3 hours and 10 minutes to qualify for Boston, and probably set a half Marathon PR going about 1:32 or so for the halfway point… I did not reach the Boston Qualifying time however, as the proverbial wall knocked me to my bum quite nicely! I finished an hour behind schedule but am not sad to have done so! I finished the first and will set my sights on another in the future! It was very nice to have my brother there with his wife (yest I said wife! We will get to that!) and it was so nice to have them there! Brian walked a couple of miles with me before I ran to the finish! I learned so much and was super excited to have ran my first! What is on the horizon for my running future? Well a 1/2 Marathon is the next event in 3 weeks, and I will run two 5k’s for the Jingle Bell Run’s of Spokane and Seattle this winter! Possibly a 12k again for the 12ks of Christmas! We shall see though! Want to join my team for Jingle Bell run Seattle? Let me know and I will get you information!

As I mentioned my brother now has a wife! And I have a new SISTER IN LAW! I cannot be more excited! This past August we welcomed Becky Clark (Nobach) into the family! I was honored to take part in the festivities as one of the groomsmen and partake in the festivities all day and to be a part of such a beautiful wedding!

Summer work? Well along with running and coaching which I consider jobs, I spent less than 2/3 of the summer in my own bed as I continued to do the usual house sitting gigs! I also helped to water some of the church grass this summer for a few weeks while the usual waterer was away on vacation for a few weeks!

Vacation Bible School this year was a blast! I was once again the Preschool games leader! I had a lot of fun playing tag and duck duck goose amoung other premade games with the preschoolers! I was as usual dressed crazily in a life vest and big rubber boots! So much fun! Also I helped out a few Sundays in kids under construction teaching the elementary kids a few times and preschoolers once!

I had quite the summer with Oregon trips! On top of my trip to Seaside this past weekend with the Cross Country team I found myself in Oregon three other times! The most recent was a trip to Portland for Sheela’s 20th Birthday! We (Sheela, Linda, Dean, Felecia and Troy) took a day trip down to Portland to hang out there and come on back that night! The time before that was for a track meet, the Prefontaine Classic to be precise! Josh Rassmussen and I decided that we wanted to go to the meet. So we left one morning at the beginning of July at 4:30 and headed on down to Eugene, Oregon to visit the Track Capitol of the World! We just went down for the day and had a fantastic time traveling down and back (got back at 10 or so that night) we watched a fantastic meet at Hayward Field, and ran a mile and a half on Pre’s Trails, and ate at Track Town Pizza! The first time I went there I just made a stop at the airport (well this was twice actually) coming to and from Florida!

Florida was amazing! I met a longtime friend Shannon McPadden for the first time and I had the trip of a lifetime! As many of you know I took a trip to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter that is now built in Universal Studios Islands of Adventures! So much fun! I highly suggest going if you get the chance! Butterbeer is absolutely good fantastic! The Forbidden Journey ride is AMAZING! Pure enjoyment! The whole park is extremely well done and just super impressive! I can talk for ages so if you want to know more please just hit me up!

That pretty much sums up my Summer! Let us move on to the year ahead!

I am now living off campus and in an apartment which has already been stated! This quarter I have a hard schedule filled with Calc 3, Linear Algebra and Physics! I also get a bit of fun in learning Piano! Which excites me! I am going to work for for the same people this next year in the library and for the education department! So that is so far so good! I start this Wednesday and won’t have Piano until next Tuesday but will keep you updated on this next week!

Again my address is

Want to read about my last two years at Eastern?
Visit:
Brandonnobach.wordpress.com

I hope to hear from all of you!
Brandon

Leave a Reply

