brandonnobach

Bloomsday #2

In Uncategorized on May 3, 2010 at 1:36 am

Welcome one and all to the special Bloomsday Edition of the Brandon Nobach Inquirer!
So really this weekly newsletter doesn’t have a specific name I think it has been called many things in the past two years or so, so no big deal! Anyways! We are off!
Well this week really didn’t have a lot in store for it as far as education goes, mainly I just had class, nothing exciting with tests or quizzes (although that is not true I had a take home test and one quiz in ED Psych, and do not know how I did thus far) or anything of that sort! Bloomsday conditioning winded down and we will have our last meeting tomorrow (as today was the BIG DAY) and Tri-Training saw a mock transition clinic(which needs to get better on my part, although when it comes to the running portion I end up killing).
Reading! I finished the Book of Awesome as promised! Things such as all the socks matching after doing the laundry, remembering those who have passed away, and the smell of rain are on the list of Awesome things! And again these are the little things that we take for granted in our lives, if you are looking for a book to read I strongly recommend picking it up (by Neil Pasricha) and learning his take on all of these things!
You want to know something else that is Awesome!!?!?!?!? Bloomsday. Plain and simple it is easily one of the best races that I have ever run and the two times I have run it are near the top of my favorite races. So let us rewind to how this weekend came to be this year! For starters I was enrolled in Bloomsday Pre-conditioning last quarter and had a blast! The group of people that were in that class at 7 am Winter Quarter are easily a tight knit group of people and some of the funnest runners I have ever met. Something about being out in the cold of an Eastern Washington winter has a way of bonding you, no matter your ability level! I then again enrolled in Bloomsday Conditioning this quarter and the bond is there becuase the bond is there for all runners tormenting themselves in the conquest for better achievement or simply achievement for everyone has success no matter if they are the Elite Kenyans or the mom pushing the stroller through the 12k course and is the last one to cross the finish line, they are all winners in my book and everyone from both of my past two classes finished between those two runners, so these runners are indeed winners. Yesterday I led a group of people (led is not really the term because we all really knew what we were doing, but I suppose I was looked to as the “captain” of sorts for my winter class and thus deemed the leader of this band of runners) down to the Spokane Convention Center for packet pickup. Now last year I did not get to walk through the booths or anything so this year was definitely a different experience, I was there from about 1030 in the morning where I hung out with my group walking around on our own and also together. We then went to lunch which one of the girls that I was with her mom was here and she was very nice and courteous and paid for our lunch which was above and beyond anything that was asked of her and I thanked her deeply for it! I then parted ways with them to wait for one of my four cross country captains Michael Thompson who was on his way from Marysville to pick up his packet. He was recently injured (this plays an important part in today’s story) while running 100k at WSU so he was resorted to walking the 12k here at Bloomsday nonetheless I met up with him! If you are doing the math here I got here at 1030 in the morning, had lunch and waited for Michael I ended up catching the 420 bus back to Cheney for a good nights sleep before the big day.
Now race day was fantastic! Anyone who is friends with me on Facebook knows a bit about my time and day, but I will lay it out for all of you and sort of how it panned out. Well having gone to bed at around 7:30 the night before I woke up bright and early at 5 for a nice hearty breakfast of oatmeal, pineapple, water, and yogurt. Great breakfast. I hopped on the 630 bus to get to Spokane and waited on the starting line for my race just after 9 (two hours of waiting) Michael met me on the line and took my sweatshirt and other stuff to hold for me. Anyways I was off while he dropped back to start in a later heat. I started off this 7.46 mile race in two 6 minute miles, followed by two at a nice clip of 6minutes 30 seconds, the next mile has what is known as Doomsday Hill, so this mile was 7 minutes, I then rounded out the race with a couple of roughly 6 minute 30 second miles and a half mile at about 3 minutes to round out the race! I finished in an unofficial time of 48 minutes and 11 seconds, unofficial because it was my watch time not the race time. Anyways I then proceeded through the finish area picked up my shirt and headed back to the start line where I made my way two and a half miles back onto the course to catch up with Mr Michael Thompson and finished walking the race with him! Such a good day! And it really was great catching up with Michael.
Anyways this is the Bloomsday Edition! Hope you all enjoyed it!
brandonnobach.wordpress.com
Brandon!

Leave a Reply

