brandonnobach

Cold Weather With a little Character

In Uncategorized on February 1, 2009 at 7:01 pm

Hey all! It is that time of week! It is time for me to tell you all about the week that has just passed and look forward to what may be taking place in the week ahead on the Eastern Campus. This week has been again as uneventful as the last with not much that was terribly exciting happening here in the blithering cold that seems to surround me day in day out now, although it is something that a persons body easily acclimates to. The temperatures this weekend have been the weekend have been the warmest it has been with the temperatures rising into the high 20’s and low 30’s! Otherwise it is rare that we reach higher than 20 degrees, with the temperature when I leave the dorms being close the negative. There is very little snow here anymore, the more dangerous substance being the black ice that hides cleverly around campus to trip up the unexpecting college student as the hurry between classes. I have only had one instance where I have fallen, this was a time when I was at work walking down the main street of Cheney a few weeks back collecting the fliers for our woebegone Cheney Hangout. Thus, your curiousities are peaked with interest towards what is going on with my work. As of this moment we do not have any plans for a new place or building. My bosses are working on the middle school in town, which is about a mile and a half away. We haven’t had much to do these past few weeks so we all do our best with what work we can do. I have made a new flier for us to put up once we are up and running again. We took all of our expirience with community service to hopefully start our kids thinking about working with the community. We went to the local Care Center much like Windsor Square in Marysville, and asked if we we could make Valentine’s Cards and Cookies for them (of course we could) with the hopes fo being open before then! So hopefully we are going to make it by then! If not we will save our craftiness for another holiday. I have continued of course to love my math class as we jumped whole heartedly into our new section of proving and verifying trigonometric equations. Which of course, I was never terribly good at when I did them in high school, but have decided that I rather like the challenge of figuring out how to figure them out with gusto! I had my midterm for Chicano Studies which was 20 questions long and straight from the study guide. I know without a doubt that I got all 20 right in a matter of minuetes as I left the auditorium 9 minutes later. I am writing my first paper in this winter quarter for my education class about the problems and solutions to funding American schools. And Geology has continued to go well with my second midterm being another 20/20 (with 35 attempts tried to get all of the questions mastered)! I continue to devour books as they come across my lap finishing Marley and Me in the last week and a half. I have finished 5 books since the quarter started and 7 books since Christmas the only Narnia book that I did not finish was The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe which I have read previously and can read now if I choose to, although I have a few other books on my list of things to read, but I urge (more plead) you to send me books that you find intriguing reads. Nicknaks and such that I have encountered are I won a large pizza from the Roost, the most expensive dining place on campus, this past week. Cj had just earlier bought a 7 inch personal pizza earlier in the day for 10 dollars or so. I guess I was selected from a survey I completed to be a winner of a Roost Pizza! Fine be me we look forward to eating it one of these days before the month is out! I have also filled out the scholarship form and have recieved a couple of glowing letters of reccommendation to turn in tomorrow for the Eastern Scholarships. I also turned in a Book Scholarship Application to obtain a few books to add to my personal library if I win the money, I am looking to get the C.S. Lewis Signature Classics (Miracles, The Great Divorce, A Grief Observed, The Screwtape Letters, Mere Christianity, and The Problem of Pain) to read. Other than that all continues to go well in the tiny town of Cheney. I look forward to seeing some of you the next time I am in town, which could be as early as the 20th (Bodmers I will call and let you know for sure, but if I am not mistaken you are in the Bahama’s at the moment????) Anyways I will be off check out my blog to reread this email and well any that I have sent out since October or so! Brandonnobach.wordpress.com I love you all!! Brandon

Leave a Reply

